US Fights Back To Draw With Netherlands At Women’s World Cup.

The U.S. women’s national soccer team fought back in the second half of its world cup match against the Netherlands on Thursday to end in a highly anticipated match ending in a 1 -1 draw of the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

U.S. Fights Back At Women’s World Cup:

The top two FIFA teams the U.S. and Netherlands who had a previously faced off in the year 2019 final went to a toe on toe on Thursday in a highly anticipated match . During the match the Netherland team scored an early lead at the 17th minute mark with midfielder Jill Roord kicking the ball past USWNT goalkeeper Alyssa Naehes putting early pressure on two time defending champions USWNT to score a goal .

The U.S. co captain Lindsey Horan equalized the match as the two teams competed by Sky Stadium in Wellington , New Zealand scoring a goal with 30 minutes of the game remaining . It was the first time the USWNT trailed in a Women’s World Cup match since 2011 in the quarterfinal against Brazil . Despite trailing at the half , the UNSWT outshot the Netherlands 9-2 in the first half and all their scoring chances came to fruition in the 62nd minute .

Dutch goalkeeper Daphne van Domselaar also praised her team’s performance after the match saying they hard worked really hard and been in frequent possession of the ball . Telma Encarnacao opened the scoring in the opening 10 minutes before Francisca Nazareth gave Portugal a well deserved two goal cushion . back to back defending champions U.S.A are next scheduled to face Portugal on August 1 while the Netherlands goes against Vietnam that same day .

FIFA Women’s World Cup :

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is an international association football competition which is contested by the senior women’s national teams of the members of Federation internationale de Football Association (FIFA). the sports international governing body . The competition has been held every four years and one after the men’s FIFA World Cup since 1991 . Under the tournament’s current format national teams vie for 31 slots in a three year qualification phase . the host nation’s team is automatically entered as the 32nd slot .

The tournament called the World Cup Finals , is contested at venues within the host nation over a period of about one month . The eighth Women’s World Cup tournaments have been won by four national times . The United Nations have won four times , and are the current champions after winning it at the 2019 tournament in France . The other winner countries are Japan , and Norway with one title each .


The first instance of a woman world cup dates back to 1970 in Italy , with the first tournament of that name taking place in July 1970 . several countries lifted bans on women’s football in the 1970’s leading to new teams being established in many countries . After official continental women’s tournaments were held in Asia in 1975 and Europe in 1984 , the 1995 edition in Sweden saw the experiment of a time out concept throughout the tournament which was later tightened mid tournament to only occur after a break in play

The 1999 and 2003 Women’s World Cup were both held in the United States . In 2003 China was supposed to host it but the tournament was moved because of SARS . During the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup both Formiga of Brazil and Homare Sawa of Japan appeared in their record sixth world Cup .

In 2023 Australia and New Zealand will be hosting the FIFA Women’s World Cup for the first time as joint hosts and the number of participants will be expanded from 24 to 32 . It will be also the first tournament to be held in the Southern Hemisphere . With Australia and New Zealand respectively being members of the Asian Football Confederation and Oceania Football Confederation

Trophy design :

The current Trophy was designed in 1998 for the 1999 tournament and takes the form of a spiral band enclosing a football at the top that denotes the athleticism , dynamism and elegance of international women’s football . In the 2010 it was fitted with a cone shaped base , underneath the base the name of each of the tournament previous winner is engraved

The trophy is 47 cm tall , weighs 4.6 kg and is made of sterling silver clad in 23 karat yellow and white gold having an estimated value in 2015 of approximately $30000 by contrast . The men’s World Cup Trophy is fabricated in 18 karat gold and has a precious metal value of $150000

Since 2007 , The winner are also awarded the FIFA champions Badge which is worn on the jerseys of the winning team until the winner’s of the next tournament has been decided .

Awards :

At the end of each World Cup are presented to select players and teams for accomplishments other than their final team positions in the tournament .

The Golden Ball currently commercially termed Adidas golden ball for the best overall player of the tournament first awarded in 1991.

The golden boot currently commercially termed adidas Golden Shoe for the goal scorer of the tournament first awarded in 1991 .

The golden glove currently commercially termed Adidas Golden Glove formerly known as the best goalkeeper of the tournament first awarded in 2003 .

Leave a Reply